Uncategorized

On stories and songs, and What our daughter loves

Our daughter is recovering from an ear infection, which has got me thinking about some of our favorite things to do together and how we can give her a bit more nurturing during this time.  In particular, I am thinking about our favorite books to read.  As she gets older (she will be 15 months in December), my daughter has become more interested in listening to us read her stories.  Some of the stories that we read to her are so timeless that they have lasted through our own childhoods and still have the ability to captivate our attention.  Others may be more simplistic in their telling and carry their magic instead in the illustrations.  Below I have included a list of some of our very favorites at the moment.

  • Madeline by Ludwig Bemelmans
  • Goodnight Moon by Margaret Wise Brown
  • The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle
  • Harry by the Sea by Gene Zion
  • Baby Angels by Jane Cowen-Fletcher
  • Peter Rabbit by Beatrix Potter
  • Where is Baby’s Belly Button? by Karen Katz
  • Baby’s Book, a Little Golden Book
  • The Biggest, Most Beautiful Christmas Tree by Amye Rosenberg, also a Little Golden Book

We also love all sorts of Mother Goose nursery rhymes and fairy tales.

My daughter also really loves music.  My husband plays classical guitar and writes his own music as well, so there is a real appreciation for the stuff in our home.  We have a radio, but most of the time we listen to albums on our record player because both my husband and I love the crackly, living sound it produces.  Not too long ago I picked up The Carpenter by The Avett Brothers because I really enjoy the band and it was the only one of their records I could find in the stores.  Well, my daughter loves to dance to their folksy, up-tempo song Live and Die.  I’m pretty sure I’m almost growing tired of it, but we love to see her dance and so we will play it over and over again.  Before the song even finishes she will begin to use her baby sign for more!  Anyway, this is not to say that she does not or would not listen to other music (she certainly seemed to enjoy dancing to what she heard at the Greek festival last month!), but I suppose we have developed a sort of special daily ritual with this particular song.  I have it posted here below for those of you who have never heard of it.  If you like what you hear, I also love these other Avett Brothers songs

  • 10,000 words (posted below, after Live and Die — I just love this video!)
  • January Wedding
  • Laundry Room
  • Swept Away

Goodnight!

One thought on “On stories and songs, and What our daughter loves

  1. I’ve read a few of those books, (WHOOO Madeline!) but not all of them. You forgot to put Kant down on her reading list!

    I have a ton of children’s books at home – the illustrations just make me happy and continue to be an inspiration when I’m feeling stuck on a writing project. When she gets a little older, I’ll have to bring some over to read aloud. How fun!

    When I get home, I’ll be able to listen to this mysterious song that your daughter loves so much. I’m intrigued 🙂

Leave a Reply

