Uncategorized · Yoga

As the weather turns warm, thoughts on yoga and food.

I’m craving Indian food, wilted greens, avocados, lentils, creamy butternut squash, green hummus, steamy bowlfuls of brown rice, baby Bok Choy, hot milky turmeric drinks, blistered tomatoes over dark toast, the scent of cinnamon, ginger, and cardamom.  As the season nears its end and the weather, at least in Florida, turns breezy and warm, I yearn for the kind of healthy, colorful and vibrant food that will usher me into Spring feeling my best.  I’m certain that the more I practice yoga on a regular basis, the more I become aligned with what my body really wants and needs.  In yoga, we practice quieting our minds as we synch our breath to asana, or posture.  As we hold our asana, we can begin to pay attention to how our bodies feel:  are we tense in the shoulders or sinking in the belly as we hold a plank position?  Are we comforted in child’s pose, euphoric in camel?  As these questions arise, and we learn to answer them, yoga begins to shape us for the better.

The farmer’s market looks beautiful these days.  Huge bundles of local and organically grown lettuces, herbs, celery, radishes of all shapes and colors, and friendly farmers that care lovingly for bees, buffalo, cows, ducks, chicks, and more.  As I read White Goats and Black Bees, I learn more about rural life with animals, and though we ourselves refrain from meat and even some animal byproducts, I feel amazed at our long history and relationship with the land we live on and our animal friends that supply us as a civilization with so much.  How the Grants (the couple from White Goats and Black Bees), and even the folks at the market, live so sustainably and self-sufficiently really intrigues me.

I must sum things up now, as my daughter is just waking up from her afternoon nap.  We’ll enjoy the beautiful weather outside at one of the nearby parks and after, I have hopes that we’ll come home to prepare and share a healthy, soul-satisfying meal together.

Nasturtiums
Our first nasturtium of the season.

4 thoughts on “As the weather turns warm, thoughts on yoga and food.

    1. Thanks!! I know how you feel!! BTW, Thanks for the recipe the other day. I’m going to try and make those beans some time soon. Looking forward to reading more of your blog 🙂

      1. the cooking time on that last recipe seemed excessive. usually rice is tender in 15 to 20 minutes, depending on the type of grain.

Leave a Reply

