Uncategorized

Raw foods

My first experience with raw foods involves a stack of recipes from Hallelujah Acres passed down to me from some friends who stayed at the lifestyle centers in Plant City several years ago.  From those early days, I remember eating a vibrant and much loved rainbow salad made up of an assortment of colorful shredded vegetables such as beets, zucchini, carrots, and cabbage.  More recently, at my baby shower the same group of friends got together and prepared a lovely and diverse spread of raw foods for the party.  We ate the aforementioned rainbow salad, but also enjoyed a sweet kale salad with raisins and pine nuts and a zucchini noodle dish with marinated mushrooms and a creamy cashew Alfredo sauce.  Though we mainly enjoy cooked meals these days, over the years we have come to appreciate both the health and aesthetic of living foods, and we will often go through phases where we incorporate a large amount of raw foods into our diet.  The texture and color of living foods is noteworthy; vegetables retain their crunch, natural juiciness, and bright, beautiful hues.  Tonight, I cracked open my copy of Judita Wignall’s Raw and Simple and prepared a tasty cauliflower couscous tabbouleh salad with a raw red pepper hummus alongside for dipping slices of leftover veg hanging around the fridge.  Flecked with emerald bits of chopped parsley and mint and loaded with plenty of delicious tomato, red onion, and black olives, this salad will win over even the most reluctant diner.  The kicked up dressing of olive oil, lemon juice, minced garlic, cumin, smoked paprika, and a hint of cayenne takes any edge off of eating such a quantity of raw cauliflower and the natural warmth promoting nature of the spices gives a rather cooked feel to the meal.

Image

Tomorrow we’ll enjoy a breakfast of chocolate chia pudding (rather indulgent) that Judita also includes a recipe for in her book.  For anyone new to and interested in raw foods, I highly recommend Raw and Simple.  Judita takes care to include only recipes that folks can throw together without the use of a dehydrator, making it ideal for beginners.  She includes everything from smoothies, juices, breakfast ideas, salads, main meals, snacks and desserts — all raw, all simple.

I’m about to fall asleep here myself, but I just had to share our inspiring meal with you all before I called it a night.  Have a healthy and happy evening!

3 thoughts on “Raw foods

  1. My mom has a raw foods cookbook, but I can’t remember the name of it right now. When you come to visit, you’ll have to reuse all our cookbooks 😀

    Raisins taste good in everything healthy. I love biting into one when I’m eating quinoa salad… or even on a fancier sandwich.

    I found a recipe for making cauliflower potatoes. Have you ever tried that? It looks easy, but my mom hates cauliflower for some reason. I’d also like to try beets, but again, my mom’s not thrilled about that either. *sighs*

Leave a Reply

