Uncategorized

Have you seen Still Breathing (1998) with Brendan Fraser and Joanna Going?

Last weekend, Will and I curled up in bed and enjoyed a sweet movie from 1998 titled Still Breathing.  This beautifully strange and whimsical film follows a puppeteer played by Brendan Fraser as he seeks the woman of his dreams (literally, he has visions).  The woman of his dreams, played by Joanna Going, just so happens to be a jaded con artist who is weary of love after many failed relationships.  The movie captivates from the start, as the opening scenes portray a quirky, long-haired Fraser cutting out picture after picture of vintage looking women from different magazines, trying to piece together a representation of the woman he sees in his fleeting visions.  What! We were drawn into this bizarre plot, where a puppeteer could be hulking, and his aging mother could still play the tuba in a canoe on the river, and where it was not that strange after all to create a collage of different eyes, lips, ears, etc.,  just to conjure up the true image of his soul mate (it was his soul mate, after all).  I have always been a fan of somewhat awkward romances — Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, Amelie, The Science of Sleep, Untamed Heart are just a few that come to mind.  Still Breathing is one I’ll have to add to the list, because in its awkwardness it too was touching.  The main character, Fletcher McBracken, reminds me of my husband in a lot of different ways.  He is artistic and strong, unafraid to believe in the seemingly impossible, a follower of dreams and of love.  In one scene, Fletcher stacks stones in the palm of Roz’s (Going’s character’s) hand to form this beautiful petite monument.  I can remember when Will and I first started dating, he sculpted a Swallow-tailed Kite for me, attached by fishing lines to a hook so that I could hang it and watch it fly whenever and however I’d like.  As our 3rd anniversary approaches, I feel truly grateful to have met my own soul mate and my very own quirky man of my dreams.

A still from Still Breathing (1998), directed by James F. Robinson.
Leave a Reply

