Uncategorized

On making time for Baingan Bharta and Quinoa salad.

I’m sitting here on our couch in the living room, looking out our two front windows and thinking about how quickly the week has passed.  That it is Friday already, and I can begin to feel the first breath of cool autumn air whenever we are out in the late afternoon.  Today was a busy sort of day, complete with broken glass and a visit from the maintenance man (both unrelated, thankfully).  We did, however, find time for a short walk to a lending library in the neighborhood — the kind that’s just a little cabinet outside with a few odd books to share and borrow.  We ate noodle soup for lunch.  We’ve had days this week that have been especially wonderful.  Yesterday, Will and I celebrated our fourth anniversary together.  We took Piper to eat with us, and afterwards walked along Lake Hollingsworth.  Still on other days, we found time to sit down to a formidable lunch together at home.  I stirred a simmering pan of Baingan Bharta while the electrician fixed some wiring in our kitchen light on his ladder behind me.  Piper and Will sat in the dining room with their guitars and serenaded him.  I just have to laugh, it was all so hilarious and sweet at the same time.

A spicy meal of roasted eggplant, sauteed with a bit of fresh tomatoes, curry, coconut milk, hot peppers and fresh cilantro.
A spicy meal of roasted eggplant, sauteed with a bit of fresh tomatoes, curry, coconut milk, hot peppers and fresh cilantro.

Another afternoon, and I think it actually might have been yesterday, I came home from running some errands so famished that I couldn’t get lunch on the table soon enough.  Fortunately, we had some Quinoa and a can of black beans on hand, as well as some odds and ends like a red onion and a wrinkly jalapeno pepper lying around in the recesses of the fridge, and I was able to quickly put together a version of my favorite cumin spiced black bean and Quinoa salad.  I can’t believe how much of that salad I ate in one sitting.  We had previously been eating a lot of red Quinoa, which I think tastes a lot stronger than white, so when I tucked into that bowl of beautiful delicate white curlicues, I couldn’t stop myself.

A quick Quinoa salad with black beans, cumin, tomatoes, cilantro, red onion, jalapeno pepper and a citrus dressing.
A quick Quinoa salad with black beans, cumin, tomatoes, cilantro, red onion, jalapeno pepper and a citrus dressing.

Now Piper is napping and I’ve got to wake Will up, too, for one of his afternoon lessons.  Hoping that all of your weeks are equally memorable.  Let me know of any tasty or unusual meals that you have shared, lately!

Until the next time–W.

Leave a Reply

